OpenStreetMap contributors have mapped 1,257 data-center sites in 274 U.S. counties. Loudoun County, Virginia, has the most, 184. Virginia Electric & Power Co, one of the utilities serving it, delivered 60.2 TWh to commercial customers in 2024, up from 39.7 TWh in 2015; commercial deliveries by all U.S. distribution utilities grew 4%.
What this release covers: where data-center sites are mapped, how commercial electricity use has changed at each utility, how much new generating capacity is being built, and 278 projects confirmed in primary documents (company releases, government records and the like), each with the passage it rests on. Not yet: a complete count of U.S. data-center capacity, a full construction pipeline, or investment totals. The projects come from 393 leads found by web search, each of which was checked; they are not a census.
1,257
data-center sites mapped in OpenStreetMap, with 244 million sq ft of mapped building footprint.
×10.7
growth in commercial electricity delivered by Northern Virginia Electric Cooperative (Virginia), 2015 to 2024. For all U.S. distribution utilities together: 4%.
98.2 GW98.298.2 GW
of generating capacity under construction in the U.S. (July 2026), 13.2 GW of it natural gas. The records do not say who will use the power.
1,257 sites in 274 counties
Each dot is a building or a site that OpenStreetMap’s volunteer mappers have outlined and tagged as a data center. Buildings inside a mapped campus count once, as part of the campus. Mapping is uneven, so the counts show where data centers are known to the map, not every data center that exists.
Zoom to state
Whole country
Whole country
Alabama
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Florida
Georgia
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin
Wyoming
Loading the map…
Mapped sites per countyNone mapped12–34–910–2425+SiteMapped as under construction
“None mapped” means no one has mapped a data center there in OpenStreetMap, not that none exists. Hover a dot for the site; click a county or a dot to list the county’s sites.
Counties with the most mapped sites (table)
County
Mapped sites
Buildings
Mapped building footprint
Loudoun, VA
184
225
33 million sq ft
Santa Clara, CA
65
69
5.0 million sq ft
Prince William, VA
59
65
11 million sq ft
Maricopa, AZ
40
45
10 million sq ft
Bexar, TX
32
58
5.3 million sq ft
Washington, OR
31
31
4.2 million sq ft
Fairfax, VA
31
32
2.6 million sq ft
Dallas, TX
28
27
3.6 million sq ft
Morrow, OR
26
33
5.9 million sq ft
Cook, IL
26
24
4.3 million sq ft
Clark, NV
21
20
2.8 million sq ft
Umatilla, OR
20
34
5.1 million sq ft
DuPage, IL
18
19
2.5 million sq ft
Douglas, GA
16
20
4.2 million sq ft
Franklin, OH
16
26
3.9 million sq ft
278 projects, each confirmed in a primary document
A project appears here only after we downloaded a primary document that names it (a company release, a government record, a regulatory filing, a permit) and read it. Status, capacity, dates and companies are what that document says, with the passage quoted and the document’s SHA-256 fingerprint kept. 123 of the 278 state a capacity. They come from 393 project leads found by web search, every one checked against documents, so this is not a national count. The megawatts are of different kinds, so they are shown apart and never added together.
Stated capacity by stage
Operating3617 with a stated capacity
Completed54 with a stated capacity
Under Construction5526 with a stated capacity
Permitted257 with a stated capacity
Announced3822 with a stated capacity
Proposed3611 with a stated capacity
Paused1no capacity stated
Cancelled2no capacity stated
Unknown3711 with a stated capacity
Status 18+ months old43last stated status; may have changed
IT or critical loadMegawatts of computing equipment (IT) or critical load, as the document words it.
Operating2.0 GW7 projects
Completed165 MW1 project
Under Construction3.5 GW10 projects
Announced4.5 GW6 projects
Proposed69 MW1 project
Unknown2.2 GW8 projects
3.5 GW committed (under construction + permitted)8.0 GW total announced (adds announced + proposed)
603 MW more is tied to a status last stated over 18 months ago (not counted above)
Utility demand or interconnectionMegawatts requested from, contracted with, or interconnected to the utility.
Under Construction650 MW2 projects
Permitted286 MW1 project
Announced3.3 GW4 projects
Proposed1.3 GW4 projects
Unknown2.0 GW4 projects
936 MW committed (under construction + permitted)5.6 GW total announced (adds announced + proposed)
1.3 GW more is tied to a status last stated over 18 months ago (not counted above)
Campus or unspecifiedA campus or project figure where the document does not say which kind of megawatt it is.
Operating315 MW7 projects
Completed60 MW1 project
Under Construction11.6 GW8 projects
Permitted2.1 GW3 projects
Announced6.4 GW12 projects
Proposed992 MW7 projects
Unknown2.9 GW4 projects
13.7 GW committed (under construction + permitted)21.1 GW total announced (adds announced + proposed)
2.3 GW more is tied to a status last stated over 18 months ago (not counted above)
Campus total only (up to)Only a campus total (“up to”) is stated; no phase figure. Not what will be built first.
Operating340 MW2 projects
Under Construction4.8 GW5 projects
Permitted1.2 GW3 projects
Announced700 MW2 projects
Unknown567 MW4 projects
6.1 GW committed (under construction + permitted)6.8 GW total announced (adds announced + proposed)
393 MW more is tied to a status last stated over 18 months ago (not counted above)
Our analysis“Committed” adds the projects documents describe as under construction or permitted; “total announced” also adds announced and proposed ones. The stages are the documents’ own words, sorted by us. Paused and cancelled projects are in neither. Some figures are worded “at least” or “up to”, as the list below shows.
When they are expected
72026
102027
12028
12030
12036
50not stated
Under construction Permitted Announced Proposed
Stated capacity by expected completion year (table)
Expected year
Projects
IT or critical load
Utility demand or interconnection
Campus or unspecified
Campus total only (up to)
2026
7
512 MW
—
29 MW
—
2027
10
801 MW
—
1.4 GW
600 MW
2028
1
—
482 MW
—
—
2030
1
—
—
—
300 MW
2036
1
—
—
—
700 MW
Year not stated
50
6.7 GW
5.1 GW
19.6 GW
5.2 GW
Each megawatt column is a different kind of figure, so the columns are not added together. Under-construction, permitted, announced and proposed projects are all included; paused and cancelled ones are not.
Every project
State
All states
All states
Alaska
Alabama
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Iowa
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Maryland
Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Mississippi
Montana
North Dakota
Nebraska
New Jersey
New Mexico
Nevada
New York
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming
State not stated in documents
Sort by
Stage
Stage
Stated capacity
Completion year
State
Name
278 projects
Documents read: 634 primary, 230 secondary (news and trade reports, quoted only as background). Of the lead claims checked against documents, 1,306 were supported, 241 contradicted and 513 not found in the document. Projects (CSV) · Quoted passages (CSV)
Where commercial electricity use grew fastest
Electricity each utility delivered to its commercial customers in 2015 and 2024, as reported to the Energy Information Administration. Depending on its tariff, a utility bills a data center as a commercial or an industrial customer, and the commercial figure also includes offices, stores and every other business. Growth here can reflect new data centers; on its own it does not identify them.
Ranked by the increase in commercial electricity delivered, 2015 to 2024.
Utility020 TWh40 TWh60 TWhMapped sites in counties it servesour analysis
1Virginia Electric & Power CoVirginia60.2 TWh +52%273in 9 of 101 counties
2Northern Virginia Electric CooperativeVirginia9.9 TWh +966%245in 3 of 7 counties
3Umatilla Electric Cooperative AssociationOregon7.5 TWh +3,839%46in 2 of 3 counties
4Ohio Power CoOhio20.4 TWh +40%39in 7 of 54 counties
5Florida Power & Light CoFlorida53.6 TWh +12%8in 5 of 43 counties
6Entergy Louisiana LLCLouisiana11.9 TWh +46%1in 1 of 60 counties
7Arizona Public Service CoArizona16.1 TWh +28%42in 3 of 14 counties
8Nevada Power CoNevada8.7 TWh +67%21in 1 of 2 counties
9Oklahoma Gas & Electric CoOklahoma12.8 TWh +34%5in 3 of 58 counties
10Berkeley Electric Cooperative IncSouth Carolina3.4 TWh +1,213%4in 3 of 3 counties
11Public Utility District No. 2 of Grant CountyWashington3.6 TWh +373%14in 2 of 5 counties
12Omaha Public Power DistrictNebraska6.4 TWh +77%16in 3 of 14 counties
2015 2024
Our analysis
12 of the 12 utilities shown report serving at least one county with a mapped data-center site. A county is often served by several utilities, so a site in a served county is not necessarily that utility’s customer. Service territories: EIA-861, 2024; sites: OpenStreetMap.
98.2 GW of generating capacity under construction
Every generator that utilities and power producers reported to the Energy Information Administration as under construction or planned, as of July 2026: 2,343 units, nameplate capacity. Cancelled and indefinitely postponed projects are excluded. These records say what is being built and where, not whom it will serve, and planned units may change or never be built.
Solar46.6 GW under construction76.8 GW planned
Batteries22.8 GW under construction42.5 GW planned
Wind15.2 GW under construction9.1 GW planned
Natural gas13.2 GW under construction56.5 GW planned
NuclearNone under construction5.0 GW planned
Hydro and pumped storage18 MW under construction3.0 GW planned
Other321 MW under construction375 MW planned
Under construction or complete, not yet operating Planned (any regulatory stage)
States with the most capacity under construction
State
Under construction
of which natural gas
Planned
Mapped data-center sites
Texas
32.4 GW
5.1 GW
63.6 GW
153
California
7.2 GW
56 MW
13.1 GW
97
Arizona
6.3 GW
689 MW
8.8 GW
42
Michigan
3.6 GW
15 MW
1.7 GW
11
Virginia
3.6 GW
—
3.7 GW
305
Wyoming
3.5 GW
—
3.7 GW
9
Arkansas
3.5 GW
69 MW
2.7 GW
2
New York
3.3 GW
3 MW
3.9 GW
23
Colorado
3.2 GW
635 MW
3.5 GW
23
Illinois
2.9 GW
—
4.9 GW
49
Oklahoma
2.5 GW
1.5 GW
2.9 GW
5
Florida
2.2 GW
612 MW
270 MW
11
What this release does not show
The questions that matter most about the buildout need project-level documents: county agendas and permits, utility and state commission filings, company disclosures. Until each is on file, these stay out.
Capacity for most mapped sites. OpenStreetMap records where a site is and its outline, not its power. Only the 123 projects above state a capacity in a document we read. Building footprint is shown because it is measured from the map, but it is not a measure of capacity.
A complete pipeline. 87 mapped sites are tagged as under construction. The projects above come from a fixed set of 393 leads and appear only where a primary document was read, so the totals are not national totals.
Electricity used by data centers. The federal sources used here report electricity by utility and customer class, not by facility type, so the utility figures above include all commercial customers.
Investment, jobs and tax effects. Investment is shown for a project only where a document states it, and is never totalled. Jobs and tax effects will follow the project data.
Sources & methods
Data-center sites
Nonprofit·OpenStreetMapOpenStreetMap contributors, planet file of October 5, 2026, read from the OpenStreetMap public dataset on Amazon S3. A site is any element OpenStreetMap tags as a data center (telecom=data_center, building=data_center or industrial=data_center, or the same under construction) and is mapped as an outline. Data centers mapped only as a point, and unnamed outlines under 100 m² (115 in the U.S. together) are held back for review: many turn out to be offices, computer labs or equipment huts. Places with “data center” only in their name (138) are left out, as are disused and demolished ones. Features inside a mapped data-center area count once, as part of it, and neighbouring buildings within 120 m that share a name and operator (or have neither) count as one site (118 buildings merged). Each site links to its OpenStreetMap record; footprints are measured from the mapped building outlines. County: the site’s location in the Census Bureau’s county boundaries.
Leads came from web-search summaries and were treated only as leads. Each project here was then found in a primary document: a company release, a government record, a regulatory or SEC filing, a permit, an incentive agreement or an official project site. Every document was downloaded and hashed; each figure is a quotation, checked to appear word for word in the downloaded document. Confidence follows a rule: HIGH when a primary document states a figure plainly, MEDIUM when it says “about”, “up to”, “at least” or gives a forecast, LOW for secondary reports, which feed no figure. Megawatts are kept by kind (IT or critical load, utility demand, campus or unspecified); a campus total is never counted as its first phase; nothing is estimated. Build: data_centers_v1, as of October 10, 2026.
Our analysis
Linking the two sources is our own work: a utility’s count of mapped sites is the number of sites in the counties it reported serving in 2024. It shows where the two overlap, not which utility serves which site.